Christmas Swap part 3: Surprise Explosion Box

Hello 🙂

Today I’ll show you the last part of my Christmas Swap. You can see the stamped scarf here and the card here.

The 4th item being a chocolate teddy bear, I had to make a surprise for my 3rd creation. Well, that kept me wondering for quite a long time: what actually is a surprise? I had no details on how to interpret the cue word. I came to the conclusion that it’s something you don’t expect (I know, I know… 😉 ). So I decided to make something that wouldn’t look like what it really was… I remembered my friend’s Valérie beautiful explosion box and decided to create my own version:

Shimmer and Shine - Christmas Swap part 3 : Surprise Explosion Box - #StampinUp, #Bold #Butterfly, #Bow #Builder #Punch, #Awesomely #Artistic, #Dotty #Angles, #Best is Yet to come

The pop of the Real Red bow is one part of the surprise, as the rest of my swap is quite monochromatic. I used the score board to create my explosion box in Marina Mist cardstock and decorated it with the background stamp Dotty Angles in two shades of blue, Marina Mist and Soft Sky. The sentiment comes from last year’s Sale-a-Bration SU stamp, but it was too perfect to not use it.

Shimmer and Shine - Christmas Swap part 3 : Surprise Explosion Box - #StampinUp, #Bold #Butterfly, #Bow #Builder #Punch, #Awesomely #Artistic, #Dotty #Angles, #Best is Yet to come

The lid makes the explosion box sturdy enough, and the Whisper White panels make it even sturdier. The cute little bow is, of course, made with the bow builder punch.

Here is the inside:

Shimmer and Shine - Christmas Swap part 3 : Surprise Explosion Box - #StampinUp, #Bold #Butterfly, #Bow #Builder #Punch, #Awesomely #Artistic, #Dotty #Angles, #Best is Yet to come

Again, pops of red with the Petite Petals flowers and the rhinestones on the butterflies. I coloured them with alcohol markers 🙂

The inside white panels are decorated with ferns and splatters from Awesomely Artistic stamp set. The butterflies were cut with the Bold Butterflies thinlit dies and the Butterfly thinlit dies. The sentiment insides means “The best is yet to come” and it comes from the eponymous stamp set.

Shimmer and Shine - Christmas Swap part 3 : Surprise Explosion Box - #StampinUp, #Bold #Butterfly, #Bow #Builder #Punch, #Awesomely #Artistic, #Dotty #Angles, #Best is Yet to come

(Love this little bow! 🙂 )

So this was my surprise item and that finishes my Christmas Swap. I hope you liked it 🙂 Sadly I forgot to take a picture with all my presents…

Supplies:

  • Stamps : Awesomely Artistic, The Best is Yet to Come, Dotty Angles, (Retired) Grande Journée (sentiment),
  • Dies: Butterfly thinlits, Bold Butterfly thinlit dies,
  • Punch: Bow Builder punch, Petite Petals
  • Inks: Marina Mist, Soft Sky,
  • Papers: Marina Mist, Real Red, Whisper White
  • Embellishment: Basic Jewels Rhinestones
  • Tool: Score Board

Thanks for visiting!

xx

Delphine

2 thoughts on “Christmas Swap part 3: Surprise Explosion Box

Leave a comment