Christmas Swap part 1: Butterfly scarf

Hello!

I hope you all had a very nice Christmas with your family. We’re just back from Brittany and the girls and baby Alex were spoilt rotten 🙂

I want to share a Christmas Swap I made before going for a fellow crafter I never met, from the North of France. We both filled a form to give each other some informations about what we liked. She wrote that she loved butterflies and the colour Blue… so I went with these elements as the central theme of my swap. We were supposed to make a card, a handmade project, a surprise and add something sweet.

I’ll share the handmade project first. I decided to think “out of the box” and try something completely new (at least, for me): stamp on fabric. I did a few research on the web to figure out which kind of ink I could use and opted for the Versafine Majestic Blue. I bought a turquoise scarf and stamped the butterfly from a retired SU! set, Backyard Basics. I love this set, the designs are so delicate, I can’t give it away…

Here is the scarf all stamped. I added a pretty little tag made with the Note Tag punch, decorated with some Soft Sky dots from the current Butterfly set, Watercolour Wings, a fishtail banner and the same butterfly as on the scarf, handcut. A ribbon ties all together nicely.

Shimmer and Shine - Christmas Swap part 1: DIY Butterfly scarf stamped with Stampin'Up! Backyard Basics

You can see how delicate the butterflies are, I was very happy with how it turned out.

Shimmer and Shine - Christmas Swap part 1: DIY Butterfly scarf stamped with Stampin'Up! Backyard Basics

I randomly stamped the butterfly, to create a more realistic effect.

Shimmer and Shine - Christmas Swap part 1: DIY Butterfly scarf stamped with Stampin'Up! Backyard Basics

Shimmer and Shine - Christmas Swap part 1: DIY Butterfly scarf stamped with Stampin'Up! Backyard Basics

I hope the lady liked it. I really enjoyed making it 🙂 I’ll try this technique on other fabrics later, for sure!

Supplies (all from Stampin’Up! unless otherwise stated):

  • Stamps : Backyard Basics,
  • Inks: Soft Sky, Versafine Majestic Blue (non SU)
  • Papers: Whisper White, Soft Sky

Thanks for visiting! See you tomorrow for part 2!

xx

Delphine

3 thoughts on “Christmas Swap part 1: Butterfly scarf

  1. Linda Harris says:

    What a beautiful gift. I received a plain scarf as a Christmas gift and will give this a try. Happy New Year – we miss you at Tracy’s class. Linda

    Like

    • delphine says:

      Thank you Linda 🙂 I’m sure you’ll love trying this too! please show me yours when you’re finished 🙂

      Happy New Year too! I miss you, Tracy and the rest of the lovely ladies very much…

      Like

Leave a Reply

