Any excuse will do…

… for crafting!

My daughter has to have a notebook for school, and of course she wanted a pink one. The front cover was just boring, so I went to my desk with an idea in mind to decorate it. On one of the classroom windows, a little pink owl greets the children with a phrase : “l’école, c’est chouette !” (which you can translate by “school is great”, with a play on words because “chouette” means owl and great). I remembered I had this cute little owl die on a shelf, waiting to be used…

So here is the new front cover for Daphnée’s notebook :

Shimmer and Shine - Daphnée's owl Notebook

This cute little owl is from a French brand, Mademoiselle Toga. I believe it was originally designed for sewing, but it works perfectly with paper too 🙂

The background is from a DSP stack I bought long long time ago… really need to use them more!

Shimmer and Shine - Daphnée's owl Notebook

 

The big leaves are from Penny Black. Some of the papers for the owl have been stamped with a dot background stamp with Versamark for a tone on tone effect. The dots on the owl’s belly have been heat embossed in white.

Shimmer and Shine - Daphnée's owl Notebook

 

I used Stampin’Up! little letters thinlit dies for the name. My daughter knows now how to decipher her name, so she helped me to put the letters in the proper order… how time flies, I swear, yesterday she was a tiny baby! 🙂

Shimmer and Shine - Daphnée's owl Notebook

Isn’t this little guy cute? 🙂

So, because it was the first time I used this die, I think I can enter Darnell’s NBUS challenge (Never Before Used Schtuff) 😉

NBUS

 

Supplies (Stampin’Up!) :

  • Dies : Little Letters Thinlit dies
  • Inks : Versamark Ink
  • Papers : Whisper White, Elegant Eggplant, Rose Red, Pink Pirouette
  • Embellishment : White Emboss’Powder
  • Thanks for visiting

xx

 

One thought on “Any excuse will do…

  1. Darnell says:

    Oh, yes, Delphine, that little owl is so, so cute! I’ll bet Daphnee had the most adorable notebook cover in her class!! Thank you for playing in my NBUS Challenge #5 ~ so long ago! I’m sorry that my nursing duties have made me so late to come by and thank you. Enjoy your day! Hugs, Darnell

    Like

Leave a Reply

