Happy Birthday – Butterfly Negatives

Hi there!

I’ve got a card for you today. I wanted to use the beautiful Butterfly thinlit again, but this card came by accident :)

I was planning to color the butterflies with my sponge dauber, and the “shadow” left on my scrap paper turned out so nice, I finally decided to make a card using the negatives!

Shimmer and Shine - Happy Birthday - Butterfly negatives - #StampinUp, #Butterfly, #Framelits

First of all, you obviously have to die-cut your butterfly. Then, being careful not to move your butterfly, you have to gently tap your sponge dauber over it, like a stencil, to make the silhouette appear on your card. I went from dark to light in order to make the body of the butterfly the focal point, and insist on its delicate wings.

SandS_2015_02_JoyeuxAnniversaire_02

I didn’t want the sentiment to hide the butterflies, so I stamped it with Versamark ink on vellum, and then heat embossed it with sparkling gold embossing powder to match the strip of glitter paper I added on the side.

I’m pretty pleased with the result :) and even better, with this technique you have the die-cut butterflies left to play with, so I’ll show you the card I’ll make with them in a few days… stay tuned!

Edit from 11/07/2015 : you can see what I created with the butterflies here 🙂

Supplies (Stampin’Up!):

  • Stamp set: (non Stampin’Up)
  • Dies: Butterfly Thinlit Dies
  • Inks: Versamark
  • Papers: Whisper White, White Vellum Cardstock, Glimmer Paper Gold
  • Tools: Sponge Daubers

Thanks for visiting!

xx

2 thoughts on “Happy Birthday – Butterfly Negatives

Leave a Reply

