Roses for my mum

Hi everyone!

Today I share a project I made for my Mum’s birthday. While surfing on Pinterest I came accross a beautiful ombre cake and it inspired me for the kind of gift I had in mind. I wanted to use the wonderful Spiral Flower Die that allows you to make the cutest little roses ever. Sadly I didn’t have any matching papers in these lovely blueish violet tones, so I went for purple instead.

Shimmer and Shine - Ombre Roses Frame - #StampinUp, #SpiralFlowerDie, #ombre, #roses, #purple, #butterfly

To die cut the roses, you just need a quarter of a A4 sheet, so each line of roses is only one cardstock for the whole frame. You have to curl up the die-cut roses to help you roll them into realistic roses, it’s a bit tricky at first but it gets easier with practice. I used white glue to adhere the flowers to their base (you may want to use a heat gun if your roses are going to be manipulated a lot, like on a box for instance, but mines were suposed to stay in a frame, so I was happy with the glue) and then I used a glue dot to stick them on the white cardstock background.

Here is a closer view of the roses. You can see I added tiny transparent pearls on some of the roses, so that it looks like dew drops. I love putting discreet details like those as a little surprise for the person who really pays attention to my work 😉

Shimmer and Shine - Ombre Roses Frame - #StampinUp, #SpiralFlowerDie, #ombre, #roses, #purple, #butterfly

I added a butterfly just because… I absolutely adore this die, it’s so delicate! But I didn’t want it to compete with the roses, so I left it white with just a rhinestone on its body. I stuck it with a glue dot directly on the glass so if my mum wanted, she would be able to take it out, but she seemed to like it too…

Shimmer and Shine - Ombre Roses Frame - #StampinUp, #SpiralFlowerDie, #ombre, #roses, #purple, #butterfly

 

What do you think of my project? Do you like it?

Edit: now that I had more time to visit my favourite challenge blogs, I’d like to enter my little gift to some of them:

Curtain Call bouquet

 

Fusion Challenge Dining Splendor

 

AAAcards Game37

 

And last but not least… The Naughty or Nice Challenge: “In Bloom”… well obviously I went for the “nice” one… Next birthday is my brother’s, maybe I could try naughty then? hehehe 😉

NaughtyOrNiceChallenge_Challenge14

Edit from May 1st : I’m a Naughty or Nice Challenges Winner!!! Thank you so much for choosing my project!

http://naughtyornicechallenge.blogspot.fr/2015/04/winners-post.html

Supplies (Stampin’Up!):

  • Dies: Spiral Flower, Butterfly
  • Paper: Whisper White (others: non SU)
  • Embellishment : Basic Rhinestones Jewels

Thanks for visiting!

xx

16 thoughts on “Roses for my mum

  1. Jane says:

    What a gorgeous gift to make for your mum. Love how you’ve captured the ombre look and those added dewdrops are a beautiful touch. Thanks for playing at AAA Cards.

    Like

Leave a Reply

