Champagne!

Hello everyone!

Hope you’re enjoying the (very) warm weather if you’re in this part of the world! Summer, at last!

I have something to celebrate today : my not-so-little brother graduated his 4th year in his accounting studies… I’m so proud of him 🙂 I wanted to use a stamp I used long ago in another card, featuring an über cute little dragon called Smookie. That card was one of my first ones, and I realise how my style has changed since then. I thought it would be funny to make another card now.

Here is a new occasion for Smookie to take a champagne bath :

Shimmer and Shine - Congrats

To create the dotted background, I used sponge daubers to apply ink through a stencil like I did on this other card. I wanted to make a halo effect so I inked the center in Citrine green and then Yellow all around. I have to say, I’m not completely happy with how it turned out, as you can’t really see the green dots under the tag. Now, if I had to do it again, maybe I would try to create an ombre effect from up to bottom instead… Food for thoughts for another card! That’s how you learn, don’t you ?…

Shimmer and Shine - Congrats

Then I die-cut a tag in white cardstock and also in Stampin’Up Certain Celery (retired) to make like a mat for the white one. I stamped Smookie in his Champagne glass, and coloured him with Promarkers. I had fun with the Champagne : I coloured it with Promarkers, applied the magical Wink of Stella clear brush and then a thick coat of Glossy Accent on the whole glass. I completed with little touches of White gel pen for highlights. The result is absolutely amazing as, in real life, it really looks sparkly like Champagne 🙂

Shimmer and Shine - Congrats

I stapled a red ribbon and put some pearls, coloured with Promarkers to fit the colour scheme. For the sentiment, I die-cut two banners and stamped the greeting. I added faux-stitching but in hindsight, I think it was not a good idea, in my opinion the background is quite busy already… well, maybe in a few years, I’ll make a third version of this card, who knows 😉

Following the kind suggestion of Monika, I’d like to enter my card to the Stamps and Glitter challenge from STAMPlorations :

STAMPlorations july2014challenge

 

Supplies :

  • Stamps : Nellie Snellen Smookie in a glass, Lawn Fawn So Much to Say (sentiment)
  • Inks : Memento Tuxedo Black, Ink it up Yellow, Colorbox Citrine
  • Dies : Lawn Fawn Tag You’re It, Stampin’Up Banners Framelits Die
  • White cardstock from my stash, Stampin’Up Certainly Celery (retired)
  • Stencil : Stampin’Up Dots and Stripes Decorative Masks
  • Ribbon and pearls from my stash (pearls coloured with Promarkers, see below)
  • Accent : Glossy Accent, ZIG Wink of Stella Clear Brush, Uniball Signo White pen, black pen and gold pen
  • Promarkers :
  1. Smookie the Dragon : Lime Green, Lime Twist, Marsh Green
  2. Champagne : Yellow, Summer Sun
  3. Glass : Cool Aqua, Arctic Blue
  4. Mouse : Warm Grey2, 3, 4
  5. Ribbon : Berry, Crimson

Thanks for stopping by!

Have a lovely day 🙂

4 thoughts on “Champagne!

Leave a Reply

