Let’s celebrate! Faux metal technique, shaker card

Hi!

Today’s card is dedicated to my parents, my husband and my baby girl. My parents and my husband and I share the same anniversary day, and it is also the day that our baby Roxanne turned 9 month old! A perfect day to celebrate and enjoy a very nice dinner at a restaurant 😉

I wanted to create a faux-metal effect for my shaker star. In order to do this, I first die-cut my star silhouette by putting the two star dies nested and ran it through my big shot. I did exactly the same with a piece of foam sheet to make the shaker part. It adheres nicely to the rest, a very convenient way to create non usual shapes of shaker cards. I then die-cut the acetate from the biggest star die.

The faux-metal effect is done by stamping the shape with Versamark and then cover it with silver embossing powder, and heat-setting it. You may do it several times until you’re happy with the brightness and the polished look of the star. Once you have adhered the star on the acetate and then on the foam shape, your shaker star is ready. Just fill it with what you want – here I punched little stars on silver glitter paper, red hearts and clear sequins for fun.

The background is a mix of  heat-embossed stars (I pressed the Versamark ink on a stencil, then applied Holographic clear embossing powder) and stamped hearts and stars.

Shimmer and Shine - Let's Celebrate

 

I tried to show the effect of the holographic clear embossing powder, in real life it’s very nice but, as often with glitter it’s difficult to take a good picture.

Shimmer and Shine - Let's Celebrate! Faux metal technique - Shaker card

 

Supplies :

  • Stamps : Dovecrat Let’s Celebrate, Lawn Fawn Plus One (heart and stars)
  • Inks : Memento Tuxedo Black, Stampin’Up Real Red, Versamark ink
  • Cardstock, glitter paper and acetate from my stash
  • Embossing powder : Papermania Silver, Artemio Holographic
  • Stencil : Stampin’Up Hearts and Stars Decorative Masks
  • Punch : mini heart (?), mini star
  • Sequins : The Craft Factory clear 5mm

 

Thanks for stopping by!

Have a lovely day 🙂

2 thoughts on “Let’s celebrate! Faux metal technique, shaker card

Leave a Reply

