Felt and decorated vellum

Hi there 🙂

It has been a bit complicated to take good photos these last days because of the horrible weather here near London and the lack of natural light… I managed to make some cards and have fun anyway!

For this one, I wanted to use the new (for me) die I got. It’s one of the retired products from Stampin’Up, but I’m glad I got it, as the butterflies are just gorgeous. I’ve got plenty of ideas to use it!

First I stamped the vellum with a polka dot background stamp with Versamark ink, then I covered it with a pretty Pink embossing powder and heat-set it. I die-cut the biggest butterfly but my vellum (folded in two) moved when I put the plates in the big shot, so instead of having a beautiful butterfly from the side, I ended up having the two wings with a 0.5 cm large bit in between… I didn’t want to discard it so I managed to create a body and antennas for my butterfly. I think it went quite well for what was a mistake at first 🙂

For the other butterflies, I just used felt and plain vellum. I used mini glue dots to hold them together and coloured two pearls with a silver Promarker to tie it together with the string of silver glitter paper below the butterfly.

The sentiment from Dovecraft is one I absolutely adore, I love this font. I cut the fishtail banner and off-set it to match the butterfly.

Shimmer and Shine - Decorated vellum and felt butterfly

Supplies :

  • Stamp :  Dovecraft Handmade with Love, Darkroom Door – Background stamp (polka dot)
  • Ink : Memento Tuxedo Black
  • Cardstock, Vellum, glitter paper and felt : from my stash
  • Embossing powder : Papermania Pink
  • Pearls : from my stash, coloured with Promarkers
  • Promarkers: Silver

 

Thanks for stopping by!

Have a lovely day 🙂

Leave a Reply

