You are our anchor!

Hello 🙂

Today I want to share the present my daughters and I offered to their daddy for Father’s day. As they are 2,5 year old and 8 month old, I helped them a little 😉 but they proudly “drew” inside the card! ^^

My husband is in the Navy, and I’ve had an idea in mind for quite a long time since I saw the Float my Boat stampset from Lawn Fawn. First I wanted to decorate chipboard letters (D A D) and take a picture of my daughters holding them but if you’ve ever tried to take pictures of toddlers and babies together, you know how impossible difficult it is to get them to look at the camera at the same time (I don’t even talk about smiling while looking at the camera!), and I was concerned Roxanne would have a little chew on them 😉

So I changed my mind and stuck the letters in a frame, and my daughters gave it to their daddy. Of course, I had to make a card for the girls to “sign”!

Here is our present to my wonderful husband. The sentiment is just perfect for him, although I wrote “our” instead of “my” to adapt it to our family 🙂

 

Shimmer and Shine - Father's day You are our anchor

 

Here is a closer look to the card:

Shimmer and Shine - Father's day You are our anchor

 

I’d like to enter the challenge “Nautical” from The Card Concept, for the “Clean and Layered” style. I hope the background can be considered as “white space” even though it has stripes…

The Card Concept 12

 

Edit june 26th : My frame gift has been chosen for Lawn Fawn’s Pin of the day! I’m truly delighted 🙂 🙂 🙂

You can have a look on Pinterest here.

Supplies :

  • Stamps : Lawn Fawn Float my Boat
  • Background : Papermania Capsule
  • Dies : Lawn Fawn Stitched Scalloped Borders (waves), Fantasia Infocréa cloud
  • Inks : Memento Tuxedo Black, Stampin’Up Real Red, Stampin’Up Bashful Blue (shade on the clouds)
  • Cardstock : from my stash
  • Accent : Red Baker’s twine from my stash, Signo Uniball Red
  • Promarkers : Poppy, Berry, Crimson

 

Wish you a lovely day !

Thanks for stopping by,

12 thoughts on “You are our anchor!

  1. Sarah G says:

    Wow – I love the framed letters, Delphine! That is such a great idea for a father’s day gift. Love your card too – the stripey background and inked clouds are lovely touches and I like the way you changed the sentiment – so fun! Thanks for your visit – I will be back to see what else you get up to 🙂

    Like

  2. Debbie Bonczek says:

    Oh my gosh, the card and the shadowbox frame are fabulous. I know exactly what you mean about the pictures taking session. I’ve had many that were difficult with my girls. But your end result is fabulous, and a card to match. Love it.

    Like

    • delphine says:

      Oh thank you Kerin, your comment means a lot to me 🙂 it is quite hard to create something for men that they won’t find “cheesy” or just “meh” 😉 Thanks for your challenge, I recently discovered that entering pushes me out of my comfort zone, a good thing for creativity 🙂

      Like

  3. Geri G says:

    WOW! WOW! WOW! This project and card is definitely something your husband will treasure forever! Your attention to detail is amazing! Suspending the anchor from the twine is beyond totally clever!

    You definitely are blessed with a huge dose of creativity and a keen sense of design… every element is so perfectly placed!

    I’m so glad that you shared your card and project with us at the Card Concept Challenge! I thoroughly enjoyed my visit to your blog!

    Like

    • delphine says:

      Hi Geri, and thanks for your lovely comment 🙂 I’ve been following your blog for quite a long time via Feedly, and it’s so funny to have you visit mine 😉 I’m really happy that this family project has become something even other people can like too 🙂 thank you very much and hope to “sea” you soon 🙂

      Like

Leave a comment