Watercolor : a first try

Hello everyone !

A few days ago, I decided to treat myself to a watercolor online class, and I must say this is one of the best decisions I’ve ever made 🙂 This is so interesting, lots of techniques, tips and tricks, and the ladies (and men 😉 ) who made the videos are really really talented… True artists !

Well, I’m just a beginner, but I thought I would share my progress.

Here is a card I made after viewing the very first video, watercoloring a background and applying a stencil to create some interesting designs. I used some watercolor paint and was quite happy with how it turned out, unfortunately, the painter’s tape I used all around my watercolor paper ripped off a little bit of paper. It was not possible to use it as is. Then I had the idea to die cut a shape from this former background, and I went to look for a heart. But instead of a heart, my eye caught some leaves dies I absolutely adore, from Lawn Fawn. I thought it was more original and this is what I came up with :

Shimmer and Shine - Watercolor + Stencil Leaves

 

Supplies :

  • Sentiment : Papertrey ink – Global greetings french
  • Dies : Lawn Fawn Stitched Leaves
  • Watercolor paper, velum and cardstock : from my stash
  • Shimmery touch on velum leaves : ZIG Wink of Stella Clear Brush
  • Daler & Rowney Watercolour paints
  • Clear Sequins from The Craft Factory

Wish you a lovely day !

Thanks for stopping by,

4 thoughts on “Watercolor : a first try

  1. Marianne says:

    What a great way to repurpose your watercoloured background! I really loved this class and I think it will get me going for quite some time yet. There’s still sommany techniques Imwant to try.

    Like

    • delphine says:

      Hello Marianne, and thanks for stopping by !
      I totally agree, I loved this class too and learned so many techniques ! I had no idea we could use it differently 🙂
      Now I just need some time on my own to do my homeworks 🙂
      Did you find the watercoloring techniques difficults ? I’m not really happy with my other tries… guess I need practice !
      See you soon 🙂

      Like

    • delphine says:

      I know!!! my phone stubbornly wants to switch to vocal mode every time I type a message, because of a stupid misplaced button!

      Like

Leave a Reply

